Main » About

About us

The Hotel Monastyrski is located in the historic centre of Minsk, on one of the oldest streets of the Upper City – Kirilla & Mefodya Street, 6 (Cyril and Methodius Street). The building of the hotel complex is a former bernardine monastery. The oldest monastery in the Republic of Belarus was founded in 1624 and functioned till the 19th century. It extended to the territory of the whole quarter and included the castle with the attached to it brethren’s building, other wooden and stone buildings, including monastery canteen, school, hospital, stable and brewery.

In the 1860s following the uprising organized by Kastus Kalinouski the monastery was abolished and was handed over to the city. Afterwards, the building hosted military units, fire brigades, prison. St. Joseph’s Catholic Church which used to form a part of the bernardine complex still serves as an archive and museum of literature and art and a state archive of scientific and technical documentation. The monastery building has changed many hands until finally the residential building and the auxiliary buildings and facilities of the complex have been placed under restoration and reconstruction.

The said buildings were under reconstruction in 2009 - 2014. In the course of restoration process all architectural elements of the building of the 19th century were preserved. The arched ceilings of the residential building were reconstructed and subsequently became the main highlight of the hotel interior. Forged chandeliers brought new life to the arched ceilings of the corridors, while the hotel premises were decorated with the stylized lighting fiхtures.

All architectural elements on the façade have been restored, all later brickwork covering the original architectural details has been removed. Numerous probings (fragments of historic walls cleared from age-old layers of plaster, paint and other material under which one can see authentic bricks used at the time of initial building construction) in the building are of special interest for the hotel guests.

In several sections of the building fresco paintings were revealed during the reconstruction works. They were partially restored. Some fragments remained unchanged by the specialists. It was done on purpose: one can compare the original fresco paintings with their current state – prior to restoration. These samples covered with special glass (32 pieces in total) are decorating the hotel corridors at present.

In the course of restoration process there was detected an additional room at the lower level of the main building which wasn’t marked on the old monastery plans. The members of the hotel personnel call these premises “Monk’s room”. It is the most mysterious place of the hotel. All ancient underground passages under the Upper City start in this very place. According to the legend, a ghost monk may appear in the room and wander around the underground.

In the course of archaeological excavations there were found the samples of ceramic tiles of a unique trapezoid shape. The specialists of Borisov industrial plant of applied arts managed to organize production and almost manually reproduced such tiles. At present the grand staircase and the corridors of the former residential building of the monastery which has been transformed into a hotel are covered with the same material which was originally used here.

All rooms are designed in integral simple style. The spirit of monastery lifestyle is revived owing to austere furniture, dark timber floor and furnishing, windows with huge shutters and fancy fittings. Each room has a distinct style owing to various niches which formed a part of interior design of the monk’s cells. This peculiarity makes the facility even more exciting.

The monastery had four inner yards where Bernardians set out orchards and gardens, kept animals. Subsequently, shopping stalls were arranged in close vicinity to the building where monks had a chance to sell their products. All yards are preserved and well-furnished. Each roof of the monastery buildings had a different color: dark-red, green, light-grey. All renovated buildings and their roofs have authentic colors.

Historical archaeological exposition is available within the territory of the complex. The complex hosts several small museums: museum of carriages, museum of Minsk horse-drawn railway and an archeological exposition demonstrating underground fragments of ancient constructions. It is based on the preserved and refurbished elements of ancient constructions detected in this place. Additional premises were built to demonstrate these relics. During the research works conducted within this territory prior to reconstruction quite a number of findings were made: Venetian glass, ceramics, copper jewelry, coins. These traces of history have adjusted the opinion of scholars about the fact that the construction in the Upper City started only in the 16th century. The first buildings appeared in this area in early 12th century. It appears that the people inhabiting the lower city gradually moved to this territory which was known at that time as Lavskoe suburb.

The Hotel Complex Monastyrski is a branch of the hotel chain Victoria.

Honored guests

We are so proud that grand people choose the hotel complex Monastyrski during their stay in Minsk. Inspiring reviews and positive impressions of the guests stimulate us for further productive work and development. 

More details
Почетные гости

Advantages of our hotel

  • Graceful and mysterious hotel with a cozy home atmosphere;
  • Located in the Upper City, the historic centre of Minsk, in walking distance from many sights of the capital;
  • An opportunity to combine rest and business events;
  • High-level security;
  • Guarded parking on the hotel premises;
  • Free Wi-Fi on the whole territory of the hotel complex;
01.09.2018

World Championship Taekwondo ITF-2018 in Minsk

The 13th World Championship Taekwondo ITF among Juniors and the 8th among Veterans was held from August 22 to August 26, 2018 in Minsk.
29.08.2018

Junior Eurovision-2018 will be held in Minsk!

International Junior Song Contest "Eurovision-2018" will be held in Minsk on November 25, in which will take part rising stars from 20 countries.

Главная » О гостинице

О гостинице

Гостиница «Отель Монастырский» расположена в историческом центре Минска, на одной из старейших улиц Верхнего города - улице Кирилла и Мефодия, 6. Гостиничный комплекс находится в бывшем мужском монастыре бернардинцев. Старейший монастырь в Беларуси был основан в 1624-ом году и просуществовал до 19-го столетия. Он занимал целый квартал и включал в себя костел, с пристроенным к нему братским корпусом, прочие каменные и деревянные строения, в том числе трапезную, школу, госпиталь, конюшню и пивоварню.

В 1860-е годы после восстания Кастуся Калиновского монастырь был закрыт и передан в управу города. Позже под его крышей располагались военные, пожарные, тюрьма. В костеле Святого Юзефа, который был частью комплекса бернардинцев, до сих пор располагаются архив-музей литературы и искусства и государственный архив научно-технической документации. У зданий самого монастыря поменялось много хозяев, пока, наконец, жилой корпус и вспомогательные здания и сооружения комплекса не были отданы под реставрацию и реконструкцию.

Она была проведена в 2009 - 2014 годах. В процессе реставрации удалось сохранить все архитектурные элементы здания 19-го века. Были восстановлены сводчатые потолки жилого корпуса, они стали изюминкой интерьеров гостиницы. Сводчатые потолки коридоров украсили кованые люстры, а помещения отеля - стилизованные светильники.

Были реставрированы все архитектурные элементы на фасаде, раскрыты поздние кладки. В здании можно увидеть и многочисленные зондажи – это фрагменты исторических стен, очищенные от многолетних наслоений штукатурки, краски и прочего материала, под которыми виден аутентичный кирпич, из которого было построено здание.

В нескольких местах корпуса во время реконструкции обнаружена фресковая живопись. Ее частично отреставрировали, оставив рядом старые фрагменты, которых не коснулась рука специалистов. Сделали так для сравнения: как фрески выглядели изначально и как в наши дни – до начала реставрации. Эти образцы под специальным стеклом (всего 32 фрагмента) располагаются сейчас в коридорах отеля.

В процессе реставрации было обнаружено дополнительное помещения в нижнем уровне основного корпуса, которого не было на старых планах монастыря. Это помещение персонал называет «комната Монаха». Оно является самым таинственным местом отеля, потому что именно отсюда берут свое начало старинные подземные ходы под Верхним городом. Считается, что в «комнате Монаха» может появляться призрак монаха, который бродит по подземельям.

Во время археологических работ были найдены образцы керамической плитки необычной трапециевидной формы. На Борисовском комбинате прикладного искусства удалось организовать небольшое производство и практически вручную сделать такую же плитку. Теперь главная лестница и коридоры бывшего жилого здания монастыря, а ныне отеля покрыты таким же материалом, какой был здесь ранее.

Интерьер номеров выполнен в одном сдержанном стиле. Дух монастырского быта воссоздает аскетичная на вид мебель, темный деревянный пол и отделка, окна с массивными ставнями и причудливая фурнитура. Номера несколько различаются за счет разнообразных ниш, которые были в кельях. Это делает объект еще более уникальным.

В монастыре были четыре внутренних дворика, где бернардинцы разбивали огород, сад, держали животных. Позже неподалеку появились торговые ряды, где и монахи продавали собственную продукцию. Все дворики сохранены и благоустроены. Монастырские постройки имели различные цвета крыш: темно-красные, зеленые, светло-серые. Все реставрированные здания и их крыши имеют аутентичные цвета.

На территории комплекса располагается историко-археологическая экспозиция. В комплексе сразу несколько небольших музеев: музей карет, минской конки и археологическая экспозиция, демонстрирующая подземные фрагменты старых построек. Ее основу составляют сохраненные и отреставрированные фрагменты древних построек, обнаруженных здесь. Чтобы показать эти реликвии, был достроен специальный объем. Во время исследований, проходивших на этой территории до начала реконструкции, было сделано множество находок: венецианское стекло, керамические изделия, медная бижутерия, монеты. Эти следы истории скорректировали мнение ученых о том, что Верхний город начал застраиваться лишь в 16-ом веке. Постройки здесь были уже в начале 12-го столетия. Видимо, люди из нижнего города постепенно переселялись на эту территорию, назвавшуюся тогда Лавским предместьем.

Гостиничный комплекс «Отель Монастырский» является филиалом сети гостиниц Виктория.


Почетные гости

Мы очень гордимся, что гостиницу «Отель Монастырский» выбирают именитые гости во время своего пребывания в городе Минске. Воодушевляющие отзывы и положительные впечатления гостей стимулируют нас на дальнейшую продуктивную работу и развитие

Подробнее
Почетные гости

Преимущества нашего отеля

  • Грациозный и таинственный отель с уютной домашней атмосферой
  • Расположен в Верхнем городе, историческом центре Минска, что позволяет пешком прогуляться по многим достопримечательностям столицы
  • Возможность совмещения отдыха и проведения бизнес-мероприятий
  • Высокий уровень обеспечения безопасности
  • Собственный охраняемый паркинг
  • Бесплатный беспроводной Интернет на всей территории гостиничного комплекса
22.10.2018

Неделя белорусской кухни в ресторане «Старый дом»

Приглашаем всех жителей и гостей города Минска на Неделю белорусской кухни в наш ресторан «Старый дом» с 22 по 28 октября 2018 года!
01.09.2018

Чемпионат мира по таэквондо ИТФ-2018 в Минске

В Минске с 22-го по 26-ое августа 2018 года проходил 13-ый Чемпионат мира по таэквондо ИТФ среди юниоров и 8-ой среди ветеранов.