The Holy Spirit Cathedral dates back to the XVIIth century, when the Bernardine monastery was built in this place. The building was damaged by fire in 1741 and was closed in 1852. Subsequently, an Orthodox church was founded here. The Cathedral boasts a treasured relic – the miraculous icon of the Mother of God. According to the legend, Minsk icon originates from Kiev, and it was brought by Prince Vladimir in the 10th century as a result of military campaigns in the Byzantine Empire. During the Tatar-Mongolian attacks the icon was thrown away to the Dnieper River. On August 31, 1500 the icon of the Mother of God appeared by the side of the river Svisloch. Apart from the icon of the Mother of God, revered relics of Sofia Slutskaya and St. Varvara are kept at the cathedral.
The Cathedral is deemed to be the main Catholic church in Minsk. The origins of the cathedral go back to the year 1700 when it was built as a church at the Jesuit monastery. The cathedral has undergone a number of reconstructions in the next few decades. As a result of renovation works executed from 1990 till 2000 the cathedral regained its original outlook. Fresco paintings coated with plaster in the Soviet years are particularly valuable in the cathedral interior.
The main attraction of Liberty Square is the Minsk City Hall. The building underwent restoration in 2004 in the place and in the form in which the city dwellers remembered the City Hall in the mid-19th century. The history of the City Hall is associated with the Magdeburg right granted to the city in 1499. In those days there was a clock on the City Hall’s tower which was of great value. Prior to abolishment of the Magdeburg right the meetings of the city council were held in the City Hall, and also the coat of arms and the seal were kept there. At present, a model of the historic centre of the city dating back to early 19th century may be seen in Minsk City Hall. The first floor of the building serves as the exhibition ground for the exposition of the Minsk museum.
Trinity Suburb – a historical quarter with secure streets and tile-roofed houses located on the banks of the Svisloch river. The settlement Trinity Hill appeared on a higher place near the Svisloch River in the 12th-13th centuries. In ancient times this suburb was a commercial center. The ancient design of the suburb was lost in the great fire of 1809. This place was redeveloped and, in line with the project approved by Emperor Alexander I, new stone buildings were built here. Trinity Suburb was included in the Old Town complex. Many buildings located in Trinity Suburb house museums and art galleries, souvenir stores, antique shops, restaurants and cafes. Next to Trinity Suburb on the Svisloch River there is an island called the Island of Tears. A symbolic chapel stands in the center of the memorial. The design of the chapel derives from that of the 12th-century Church of Euphrosyne of Polotsk.
North-eastern part of the historical center of Minsk on the left bank of Svisloch River Distance: 740 m
The architectural ensemble of this part of the city which has been transformed for many years represents at the moment a unique masterpiece of urban development. Starting from mid 16th century the wealthiest and the most influential city dwellers inhabited the Upper City. The complex includes Liberty Square, Musical alley, Gertsen Street, Revolyutsionnaya Street, Kirilla and Mefodya Street, Internatsionalnaya and Torgovaya Streets, and also partially Komsomolskaya and Engels Streets. Liberty Square is the central element of the Upper City. According to the legend, underground passages are located under this square which connect all principal monastery complexes of the city.
includes Freedom Square, Musical Lane, Herzen street, Revolutionary street, Kirilla & Mefodya street, Internatsionalnaya street, Torgovaya street and parts of Komsomolskaya and Engels streets Distance: 90 m
The Bolshoi Opera and Ballet Theater is located within an easy walking distance from the hotel. Numerous renowned opera singers perform at the Bolshoi Theater in the capacity of the invited soloists. The Bolshoi Opera and Ballet Theater hosts international opera festivals. The theatre has a creative team Belarusian Chapel which has performed in more than 30 countries of the world. Visitors of the city of Minsk will appreciate high level of such stage performances as Aida (Verdi), Swan Lake (Tchaikovsky), Carmen (Bizet), etc.
GUM is the first largest department store in Minsk. The building itself is considered to be a monument of architecture and town development of the 20th century. The department store opened its doors to public on November 5, 1951. GUM is a place where one can find the goods for the whole family and for every occasion that will please every standard. Customers will enjoy delicious dishes at the canteen and cafeteria located inside the building. A number of paid and free-of-charge additional services are available upon request.
The museum is located in the Upper City within the territory of the former Bernardine monastery and depicts life in Minsk in the 1890-1920s. Permanent exposition “Minsk horse-drawn railway” opened its doors to the visitors in 2017, on the day of the 950th anniversary since it was first mentioned in Minsk Chronicles – March 3. The exposition embraces unique exhibits which reflect the formation and further development of public transport in Minsk.
The Archaeological Museum is situated in the Upper City and forms a part of the museum complex within the territory of the former Bernardine monastery. The museum boasts a unique archeological finding – fragments of foundation of masonry constructions built in early 18th century. A permanent exposition is at the stage of development. At present visitors can admire temporary thematic exhibitions.
Catholic Church of St. Joseph was founded in 1652. The church was a part of the Bernardine monastery. The monastery complex and the Catholic church caught fire several times but every time they were restored and rebuilt. After the most recent reorganization the church has acquired baroque features. The building facade is of particular interest – it has a large convex plane. This is where the main decorative elements are concentrated. In 1864 the building of the Catholic church was confiscated for participation in the uprising organized by Kastus Kalinouski. The monastery was abolished. In 1983 St. Joseph’s Church in Minsk was restored, and starting from 1992 the building hosts a scientific and technical documentation, literature and art archive of Belarus.
The cathedral was founded in 1612. In the course of its long history the cathedral faced many difficulties. After the victory in the Great Patriotic War the cathedral premises were refurbished into archives and housing accommodations, and till 1991 no church service was conducted there. In 1991 His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy was among the first to visit and hand down a blessing to the cathedral. At present Saints Peter and Paul Cathedral undergoes reconstruction of interior, land improvement and restoration of historic fence.
The museum boasts the largest in the country collection of Belarusian and foreign art. The exposition and museum depository have more than 30 thousand items from 20 various collections forming a part of 2 core collections: a collection of national art and a collection of works of art of all countries and nations of the world. Museum history goes back to 1939. In 2006 an additional museum building was opened which made it possible to considerably extend permanent expositions. The new building is equipped with state-of-the-art technologies and hosts such expositions as: ancient Belarusian art, art of Western Europe, art of Eastern countries and Belarusian art of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Belarusian State Circus with a capacity of 1,625 persons is located on Nezavisimosti Avenue. The first performance took place in 1959. From 2008 to 2010 the Belarusian State Circus underwent full-scale renovations. The circus is adapted to all circus genres, and also variety shows, sports events and management of any animals. Guests of the circus will enjoy the performance of Belarusian artists and international circus shows.